UAPA Annual Awards

Below are the awards and some qualities you may want to consider when choosing your nominees. Please remember the Lifetime Service Award and The Don Pedersen Leadership awards do not necessarily have to be given to PA’s. The academy has the ability if not responsibility to recognize excellence outside of our profession as well.


Eric Heaton Lifetime Service Award – This award goes to someone who has dedicated a large part of their life or career to service. It could be service to patients in the role of provider, it could be service to a population or group of people such as: migrant workers, homeless persons, battered women. It could be service to an organization such as: our own UAPA, the Red Cross, Salvation Army.

MD of the Year – Some qualities of this award winner could be: A role model for anyone in health care. They are compassionate, caring and passionate about practicing the art of medicine. They are enthusiastic teachers as well as active learners. This is someone you would send your family to see without reservation.

Humanitarian PA of the Year – Someone who has tried to make a difference in the lives of others beyond just practicing medicine. This person demonstrates kindness and compassion impartially to without distinction in regard to gender, sexual orientation, race, geographic location, religion, or nationality.

Rural PA of the Year – This person possesses the qualities that you feel define PA excellence and practices in a rural setting.

President’s Award – This award is given by the President of the Academy. It is up to the discretion of the President to choose this person.

Don Pedersen Leadership Award – This person demonstrates the ability enlist the aid and support of others in the accomplishment of a common task. This is someone who has demonstrated insight, and the ability to “think outside the box”. They are innovative, dedicated, unselfish, and committed to accomplishing the task at hand, while at the same time looking towards the future in an attempt to leave things better than they found them.

Please submit your nominations by March 15.
Skip to toolbar