Outstanding Member Recognition

University of Utah PA Program Associate Professor David Keahey, PA-C, MSPH Chosen For Prestigious Robert Wood Johnson Health Policy Fellowship
By Jennie Coombs, PA-C, PhD
David Keahey, an associate professor (clinical) at the University of Utah Physician Assistant Program (UPAP), was selected from a highly competitive field of applicants to participate in the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Health Policy Fellowship program.
The fully funded residential program brings up to seven fellows to Washington, D.C., each year, giving them an inside look at the health policy political process and exclusive hands-on experience working with the most influential congressional and executive offices in the nation’s capital. Launched in 1973 and funded by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the program is conducted by the National Academy of Medicine. Mr. Keahey will be in residence in Washington DC from 2015-2016.
He started at the U’s PA program in 1983 when he began precepting second year students; he later was appointed the Associate Program Director. He is co-director of the Evidenced Based Medicine curriculum and master’s capstone experience. Mr. Keahey has been a Principal Investigator (PI) for Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) training grants and is currently the PI for the HRSA Expansion of Physician Assistant Training (EPAT) grant.
For ten years Mr. Keahey was chair of the Utah Academy of Physician Assistants’ Legislative Committee and lead efforts to write and pass two bills that improved PA scope of practice. He was chair of the Physician Assistant Education Association (PAEA) Government Relations and External Affairs Council and was the PA liaison to Society for Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM). He led the workgroup that published joint STFM/PAEA position statement, Educating Primary Care Teams for the Future: Family Medicine and Physician Assistant Inter-professional Education. He was appointed in 2012 by Health and Human Services Secretary Kathleen Sebelius to the HRSA Advisory Committee on Training in Primary Care Medicine and Dentistry (ACTPCMD) where he now serves as vice-chair and co-wrote the committee’s 10th,11th, and 12th  Reports to Congress.
Skip to toolbar